My Heart Went Pitter Pat

Dad came into the kitchen while I was unloading the groceries to chat for a minute. He told me he had gotten back to a friend of his regarding a business idea that the friend had. In the middle of the story, he says, “Babe! We’re rich!”. I felt my heart flutter, my stomach do a little flip, and my brain picture a nice house and fancy car. All this in the space of a split second until I realized that he was looking at a 10 dollar bill that was stuck to the inside of the washing machine door. “Must’ve left it in my pants when I went to the farmer’s market this weekend,” Dad says.

This is the perfect example of how I think about money the way that an alcoholic thinks about his next drink. Great.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

