Does Less TV = More $$$?

I don’t know the answer, but I don’t think less TV can hurt. We often eat in front of the TV even though I don’t think it’s right. Sometimes after a long day, and I’m sure others can relate, it’s just easier to check out than talk over your meal. One of my goals as a parent is to always have dinner together at the table if possible. I did when I was a kid and it helped create a great family bond.

Growing up we didn’t have TV much. My dad put it in storage for years, then when he brought it out we were allowed to watch The Simpsons together on Thursday nights and have 2 hours on the weekends. That was it.

In any case, Dad and I had a no TV week last week. We actually ate at the table and talked about our day and plans. I thought that it would make more time for us to work on side projects. As far as straight money making is concerned, we didn’t necessarily get more done (i.e., work on businesses or brainstorm or budget).  We actually stayed at the table chatting about random stuff most nights until we were ready to go to bed! However, our overall sense of well-being definitely improved, and that’s always helpful.

We have continued this trend this week. Although it doesn’t seem to have a direct impact on the amount of work we get done, it sure gives us a bunch of warm fuzzies, which is just as important.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

