Real Simple One Month Food Plan IN ACTION!!!

So I admit it, sometimes I get suckered by the magazines at the checkout lane. I think this one was at Target. Real Simple has an article this month on 4 weeks worth of weeknight dinners. I thought I’d probably save more than the cost of the magazine if I stuck to the plan, so here I am on week one. We won’t be able to do it perfectly as we’re out of town a few days this month, but I’ll do my best.

Bags of groceries from Trader Joes and Whole Foods (I refuse to buy cheap meat, so my tiny bag from Whole Foods was $70) and the corresponding receipts are below.

We had the first meal (salmon with vegetables) and the second (grilled cheese and roast beef sandwiches with tomato soup) and both were delicious. Both also had leftovers, so lunch is taken care of. Everything on the receipts was on the grocery list from Real Simple except a few things like milk, yogurt, cereal, nuts, fruit and honey which I bought for breakfast and snacks.

Basically, our food budget is ridiculous for 2 people and a baby. We go over our $700 grocery limit every month, it’s a sticking point for me. I figure if I plan better I might just be able to do it.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

